All Too Well

I cannot help but belt this song out in my car with the road as my audience. Music has always given me a path to fall onto, something I can rely on to either ease the sound of my own mind or shout the answers I have been looking for.

This is a song that touches me at times of thought or reflection of the past. I often find it hard to contain my self-developed performance skills while listening to the upbeat tempo.

‘All Too Well’ cries for that sheer determination, that fight to keep a memory you cherish so much alive in your thoughts.

Sometimes, after attempting to extinguish the pain you give the flame of love an opportunity to reignite, before a flood of memories drown it out.
This song is a river of memories tied to a past. Those memories that flash though your mind in an instant, and leave you wondering if letting it go was the will of fate or something you could have changed.

I can feel the rain while she sings through the words:
“Maybe we got lost in translation, maybe I asked for too much,
And maybe this thing was a masterpiece ’til you tore it all up.
Running scared, I was there, I remember it all too well.”

That heavy, loud rain that falls through your fingertips as you stand lost and confused.

The tune rises, as she sings louder with passion. A passion that soon fades to a soft tempo. You can sense the sadness in her voice when she speaks to the person of her past.

Through these words a wall of memories collapse, but by the end of the song they’re cleared. Until the satisfaction of sharing ones feelings has been lifted and you know all too well, that they will resurface once more.

– E

Leave a Reply

